What does it mean to revoke an SSL certificate?
Revoking is the process of canceling an SSL certificate. When you revoke, the SSL credit is canceled and HTTPS is immediately removed from the website. A revoked certificate cannot be re-keyed or renewed, and the process cannot be undone. If you need HTTPS for the website, you must repurchase and submit a new request.
Consider revoking your certificate if:
- The certificate contains the wrong common name.
- The certificate contains incorrect information.
- The secured site is no longer operational.
If your website moved to a new server, or if your server crashed and you need to reinstall, you should re-key your certificate. For more information, see Re-keying an SSL Certificate.
If you're switching certificate types, for example from a Standard to a Premium SSL, you can install the new certificate over the existing — you do not need to revoke the old certificate.
To learn how to revoke your SSL certificate, see Revoking an SSL Certificate.
How does an SSL certificate work?
Determining the Type of SSL Certificate a Website Is Using
Protecting My Site Against the SSL Vulnerability in Debian GNU/Linux
How do I know my secure certificate is safe from vulnerabilities?
What happens when my certificate expires?
Defining SSL Certificates
Your message was successfully sent.
There was an error in sending your message, please try again.
Have a question about the content of this article?